Sri Lanka at a Glance

Location –Sri Lanka is an island nation that lies in the Indian Ocean, separated from peninsular India by the Palk Strait.

Land Area – 65, 610 km2

Coastline – 1,340 km.

Monetary Unit – Sri Lankan Rupee (LKR)

International Dialling Code – 94

Population – 21,898,000 (2019 estimate).

Languages spoken – Sinhala, Tamil, English

Government – Unitary Multiparty Republic with Parliament as the supreme Legislative body.

Head of State – President.


Time – Sri Lanka Standard Time (GMT/UTC + 5.5 hours)

Capital Cities

*Colombo – Executive and Judicial Capital and Commercial Hub.

*Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte – Legislative Capital.

Administrative Divisions – for administrative purposes, the country is divided into nine Provinces and further subdivided into twenty-five Districts.

Climate – Sri Lanka’s climate is tropical but View More

People and Ethnicity – There is evidence of early View More

Religion – Sri Lanka is the heartland of Theravada View More

Travel Guide